fchost.blogg.se

980 ti in a mac pro 5.1 2016
980 ti in a mac pro 5.1 2016




  1. 980 TI IN A MAC PRO 5.1 2016 PDF
  2. 980 TI IN A MAC PRO 5.1 2016 DRIVERS

BUT in addition to the host bus adaptor card, you'll need this daughter card: There is another model as well that can hold 16 GPUs IF you set it up with riser cables and such, to route the slots out from under the single-slot mounted slots.įor anyone who's already built an eGPU rig from the guides on this site, keep in mind that you should view this as an extension of what you already have. Here's the link: NOTE: this model of board is the big brother to mine, and will hold 8 GPUs.

980 ti in a mac pro 5.1 2016

I just discovered yesterday that a seller on ebay has released "over 10 available" of these hard-to-find boards. What I built for less than $500 they sell for $3000 and up. Thanks! I think these backplane manufacturers don't want to cannibalize their $3000+ turnkey system sales. I have since added the M.2 boot drive and added more GPUs to my rig, but other than that it's about the same.

980 TI IN A MAC PRO 5.1 2016 PDF

I'll post some more current photos later today, but here's a link to a PDF I put together that's about all the upgrades I did to my classic Mac Pro 5,1 - not just this eGPU addition &. There is one backplane currently available on ebay for only $100 more than I paid for my 5-slot ATX sized board, which can run up to 16 GPUs if you went single-slot on your GPUs or used riser cables to extend the PCIe slots. Of course, if you have a nMP ("trashcan") or a laptop, you'll still have to go through the process of getting your AKiTiO box up and running via your Thunderbolt port, but once you do, you can further extend that SINGLE PCIe slot into an entire array of GPUs.

980 TI IN A MAC PRO 5.1 2016 DRIVERS

  • 256GB Samsung SM951 M.2 AHCI boot SSD mounted on an Angelbird Wings PX1īecause my cMP has native PCIe slots (Apple, what were you thinking getting rid of those?!?), compared with what I am seeing about having to run drivers and crazy shenanigans to get the TB ports to talk with the PCIe slots on others' eGPU builds, I was surprised to find that all I needed to do was plug the host bus adaptor into the second x16 slot on my Mac Pro motherboard, plug the molex cable into that, and plug the other end into the backplane, apply power to the backplane, plug my GPUs into the backplane, and boot the computer! Because this is a managed/actively switched PCIe adaptor, the OS only sees the PCIe slots as an extension of the existing PCIe bus, just like plugging a USB hub into a USB port!Īlso, with a little bit of shopping around, these rare backplanes CAN be found for less than the price of the AKiTiO boxes and other such contraptions.
  • 2012 Mac Pro 5,1 ("cheesegrater" cMP) upgraded to 3.33GHz dual 6-core X5680 Xeon.
  • Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX case (tempered glass special edition 😉.
  • 980 ti in a mac pro 5.1 2016

  • Corsair AX1200i 1200-watt power supply - found on ebay for $182.
  • Molex X16PC - PCIe x16 server connection cables - found on ebay for $30.
  • Cyclone Microsystems PCIe host bus adaptor model PCIe2-426 - found on ebay for $120.
  • 980 ti in a mac pro 5.1 2016

    Cyclone Microsystems ATX-sized backplane model PCIe2-427 - found on ebay for $200.If you do go searching around, be SURE you're looking at PCIe, not PCI. Hello all! I am new to this site, but I wanted to share my unusual setup, and my surprise that I have not seen a single other eGPU build based on used PCIe backplane expansion systems like mine from Cyclone Microsystems or Magma.






    980 ti in a mac pro 5.1 2016